Social Teachings of the Catholic Church

The Church's social teaching is a rich treasure of wisdom about building a just society and living lives of holiness amidst the challenges of modern society. There are seven key themes that are at the heart of Catholic social tradition.

  • Life and Dignity of the Human Person
  • Call to Family, Community, and Participation
  • Rights and Responsibilities
  • Option for the Poor and Vulnerable
  • The Dignity of Work and the Rights of Workers
  • Solidarity
  • Care for God's Creation

More information is available on the United State Conference of Catholic Bishops' website's page on THE SEVEN THEMES OF SOCIAL TEACHING.